Training and Certification

What is the CASP+ Certification?

December 5, 2017

Guest Author

[This post was last updated on 4/19/2019.]

In the rapidly changing cyber security world, threats are emerging every day. The CompTIA CASP+ certification guarantees that professionals possess the necessary IT and cyber security skills to build solid solutions that protect enterprises globally from malicious and advanced persistent threats.

Today, the CASP+ credential has gained tremendous popularity worldwide. The most notable organizations that use CASP+ include the U.S. Army, U.S. Navy, Booz Allen Hamilton, Network solutions, and Verizon Telematics.

What is the CASP+ Certification?

Recognized globally as CompTIA’s highest-level cyber security certification, the CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+) certification is an advanced-level, vendor-neutral certification. The certification provides the best information security solution training for both government agencies and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs). Moreover, the CASP+ certification meets the ISO17024 standards and is approved by the US Department of Defense to fulfill Directive 8570.01 M.

The certification validates a candidates’ cyber security skills and knowledge, along with assessment abilities and general problem solving used in security situations. These areas are evaluated across a wide range of security subsets. Above all, earning a certification means demonstrating the ability to execute straightforward solutions in intricate environments.

The CASP+ CAS-003 Exam

The CASP+ exam (CAS-003) is the most recent version. The exam has a maximum of 90-questions long, the exam is a mix of multiple-choice and performance-based questions. Furthermore, the test is administered over a 165-minute time frame at an authorized Pearson VUE Test Center. The exam is pass/fail only, with no score given.

Experience is strongly recommended for earning the certification. Ten years of experience in IT administration is strongly recommended for CASP+ candidates. With attention to at least five years of hands-on technical security experience.

As of April 2, 2018, the CASP+ exam changed. The changed made to the exam to cover topics such as cryptological techniques, cloud and virtualization technologies, and more. The domain name and exam percentage changes can be seen below:

  1. Risk Management – 19%
  2. Enterprise Security Architecture – 25%
  3. Enterprise Security Operations – 20%
  4. Technical Integration of Enterprise Security – 23%
  5. Research, Development, and Collaboration – 13%

Registering For The CASP+ Exam

Once the candidate meets all the CASP+ requirements, they can schedule their exam on CompTIA’s website by following steps that include:

  1. Buying an exam voucher
  2. Creating a Pearson Vue account
  3. Finding an authorized Pearson Vue test center
subscribe by email

Stay Ahead

Phoenix TS needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at anytime. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy.