Cyber Security

What is CCSP Certification?

January 23, 2018

Guest Author

Cloud computing is an information technology paradigm that offers an innovative business model for enterprises to adopt IT services without prior investment. Although cloud computing has various advantages, enterprises hesitate to accept it because of the security challenges and issues associated with it. Security issues are major stumbling blocks to the progress of cloud computing. The CCSP certification was created in to address challenges and issues that enterprises find themselves facing with cloud computing.

What is CCSP Certification?

Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP) is a vendor-neutral certification specifically designed to reflect best practices in the realm of cloud security. (ISC) ² and Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) created this certification to address all the challenges and issues to cloud computing today. Once the candidate earns CCSP credential, they will have hands-on experience and deep knowledge of cloud security, its design, operation, and service orchestration. The CCSP has a stand-alone property that builds upon and complements existing educational programs and credentials, including CSA’s Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) and (ISC) ²’s Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP).

Additionally, the CCSP certification has been accredited by the ANSI (American National Standards Institute), which means it has met the requirements of ANSI/IEC/ISO standard-17024.

CCSP Job Roles

The CCSP credential is an ideal for those working in roles that include:

  • Systems Architect/Engineer
  • Security Manager/Engineer/Architect/Consultant
  • Security Administrator
  • Enterprise Architect

CCSP’s Job Task Analysis (JTA)

(ISC) ² periodically performs JTA to maintain the relevancy of the CCSP exam. JTA is a critical and methodical process whose purpose is to scrutinize the job roles of CCSP professionals. This process ensures that CCSP-certified professionals are meeting the current needs of their organizations. Once the JTA is successfully performed, the acquired information will be used to update CCSP CBK in order to keep it relevant and appropriate for current cloud security scenarios.


The CCSP certification exam is a rigorous exam evaluating potential candidates across six domains. The 125 question, multiple-choice exam is administered over a 4-hour period at a Pearson Professional Center. In order to successfully pass the exam and obtain certification, the candidate must earn at least 700 out of a total of 100 points The CCSP exam questions are developed from the skills and information contained within the CCSP CBK and CCSK with the following weight:

  1. Architectural Concepts and Design Requirements – 19%
  2. Cloud Data Security – 20%
  3. Cloud Platform and Infrastructure Security – 19%
  4. Cloud Applications Security – 15%
  5. Operations – 15%
  6. Legal and Compliance – 12%

Registering for the Exam

CCSP candidates will need to perform several steps to register for their CCSP exam:

  • Confirm certification eligibility
  • Visit the Pearson VUE website
  • Create a Pearson VUE account and then review the Pearson VUE NDA
  • Select an appropriate testing center
  • Select a convenient time
  • Pay for the exam
  • Check the confirmation through E-mail that the Pearson VUE will send to you. This E-mail includes appointment details, testing location, and all other relevant instructions.

CCSP Benefits

The CCSP is the smart investment and offers several benefits:

  • Unique Recognition:
    • Unlike other certifications, the CCSP is powered by the two prestigious non-profit organizations, (ISC) ² and CSA.
  • Staying ahead:
    • The CCSP credential can enhance candidates’ knowledge of cloud security practices and principles. This certification keeps candidates current on emerging technologies, new strategies, and new threats.
  • Versatility:
    • Since the CCSP is a vendor-neutral credential, the candidates can use their knowledge across numerous cloud platforms.
  • Career Advancement:
Learn About the Salary Benefits of CCSP in 2017

Maintaining CCSP Certification

To maintain your CCSP certification, you will need to:

  • Follow the (ISC)² Code of Ethics.
  • Earn 30 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) units
    • You can do so through attending events, online seminars, and more
  • Pay the annual maintenance fee

Are You Ready To Become CCSP Certified? Take A Look At Our Upcoming Schedule And Register Today!

9/16/24 - 9/20/24 (5 days)
11/18/24 - 11/22/24 (5 days)
12/16/24 - 12/20/24 (5 days)
1/06/25 - 1/10/25 (5 days)
2/24/25 - 2/28/25 (5 days)
6/02/25 - 6/06/25 (5 days)
9/08/25 - 9/12/25 (5 days)
12/15/25 - 12/19/25 (5 days)
subscribe by email

Stay Ahead

Phoenix TS needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at anytime. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy.